Congress leadership reviews recent election losses in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh

The Congress leadership, including the erstwhile chair Rahul Gandhi and current party president Mallikarjun Kharge, convened on Friday for an in-depth analysis of the party’s performance during the recent assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. The meeting took place at the All India Congress Committee headquarters in Delhi, following an unforeseen defeat to the BJP.

“A discussion concerning the Chhattisgarh election results was held today at the Congress office in Delhi. High-ranking Congress leaders present at the meeting included Rahul Gandhi and party president Mallikarjun Kharge,” stated the party, alongside photos from the review session on the Chhattisgarh election outcome.

During the meeting, KC Venugopal, the Congress General Secretary (Organisation), issued instructions to state Congress chiefs to prepare a comprehensive report detailing the party’s performance at each polling booth for the Chhattisgarh elections. The party underscored the need to reinforce bonds with the public and announced its intention to collectively contest the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections with the aim of unseating the BJP government.

The AICC General Secretary responsible for Chhattisgarh, Kumari Selja, expressed disappointment over the election result but maintained that the party remains undeterred. “During today’s review meeting on the Chhattisgarh election outcome, everyone had the opportunity to share their perspectives. Despite our loss in the Chhattisgarh elections, our vote share remains unchanged. This implies that public faith in us is growing,” she stated.

In the case of Madhya Pradesh, Congress leaders candidly discussed the party’s weaknesses and dissected the factors contributing to the defeat. Randeep Surjewala, the AICC’s general secretary-in-charge, advocated for organisational strengthening and requested the Congress president to convene a Congress Legislature Party meeting in Madhya Pradesh to select the opposition leader.

The review meetings in Chhattisgarh were attended by party leaders Bhupesh Baghel, Ajay Maken, and K C Venugopal, the AICC General Secretary.